Lyons leads charge at Vic Architecture Awards with RMIT's New Academic Street

Laurence DragomirJuly 14, 20180 min read

RMIT’s New Academic Street (NAS) with Lyons at the helm, in collaboration with NMBW Architecture Studio, Harrison and White, MvS Architects and Maddison Architects was the big winner at the recent Australian Institute of Architects’ (AIA) 2018 Victorian State Architecture Awards, claiming six awards in total.

The awards recognise the best of Victorian architecture and acknowledge the outstanding contribution architecture and urban design make to our built environment. 

The Lyons led team was awarded the Victorian Architecture Medal - the event’s highest honour - in addition to being named a dual recipient of the Melbourne Prize which was shared with Breathe Architecture for their design for Nightingale 1.

RMIT NAS took out the top gong in both the educational architecture and urban design categories and was also among the winning projects for architecture awards in the categories of interior architecture and sustainable architecture.

Lyons leads charge at Vic Architecture Awards with RMIT's New Academic Street
RMIT's New Academic Street claimed six awards. Image: Supplied

These awards are a wonderful acknowledgement of the successful collaboration between Lyons and four architecture firms — all of whom are RMIT alumni.

Together, we were driven to reimagine the campus into what would become a dynamic urban destination for students to embrace and enjoy. Integrating NAS within Melbourne’s CBD transformed the student experience and we’re delighted the design has been so well received by both the student body and the architecture community.

- Professor Carey Lyon, Lyons founding Director and NAS Project Director

Awards won

  • Victorian Architecture Medal
  • Melbourne Prize — Joint Winner
  • Educational Architecture  - The Henry Bastow Award for Educational Achitecture
  • Urban Design  - The Joseph Reed Award for Urban Design
  • Sustainable Architecture - Architecture Award
  • Interior Architecture - Architecture Award

Looking ahead...

Lyons leads charge at Vic Architecture Awards with RMIT's New Academic Street
The New Student Precinct's proposed outdoor amphitheatre. Image: ArchitectureAU

In February 2018, Lyons Architecture was engaged as the lead architects for the concept design for the University of Melbourne’s $229 million New Student Precinct at its Parkville campus.

The design team comprises Koning Eizenberg, Aspect Studios, Breathe Architecture, NMBW Architecture Studio, Greenaway Architects, Glas Urban and Architects EAT.

The New Student Precinct aims to make a significant contribution to the transformation of the on-campus student experience at Parkville by delivering a world-class student hub for the whole campus community.

Early and enabling works commenced earlier this year to prepare the site for construction works, continuing through until the end of 2018.

According to ArchitectureAU, the design team will now move on to produce a schematic design, which will be delivered in September, with the project expected to be completed by 2021–2022.

Laurence Dragomir

Laurence Dragomir is one of the co-founders of Urban Melbourne. Laurence has developed a wealth of knowledge and experience working in both the private and public sector specialising in architecture, urban design and planning. He also has a keen interest in the built environment, cities and Star Wars.
New Academic Street
Victorian Architecture Awards 2018
Harrison and White
MvS Architects
Maddison Architects
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Find out more in our privacy policy.
Accept Cookies