David Airey steps down as REIWA President

David Airey steps down as REIWA President
David Airey steps down as REIWA President

REIWA President David Airey has stepped down from the position after serving the maximum 12 years outlined in REIWA’s constitution.

The announcement was made at REIWA's AGM on Thursday. Two new councillors, Rory Trotter and Suzanne Brown, were elected 

Councillor Ian Cornell, first elected in 2004, also stepped down. 

Mr Airey’s 12 year term on council included four as Institute president. He is the first REIWA president in 97 years to serve a consecutive four-year term.

“This has been wonderful and rewarding experience for me and I leave the Council and Presidency in the hands of talented and experienced people, supported by CEO Neville Pozzi and the excellent REIWA staff,” Mr Airey said. 

“Not only has REIWA’s financial positon strengthened, but it has developed a new smarter, stronger web site for members, increased and improved the range of services provided to members and runs the biggest and best real estate conferences in the country.

“My passion for promoting REIWA in the media is sure to be continued by my successor. It’s through this medium that REIWA’s public perception has improved so markedly. 

“This has not gone unnoticed by the state Government and Opposition with whom we now enjoy a very strong working relationship which includes positions for REIWA on the Property Industry Advisory Board and ongoing dialogue with our industry regulator the Department of Commerce. 

“My only disappointment is that I've not been able to bring about the boom property conditions the eastern states continue to enjoy. I would have just been happy with some strong market improvement! I'm sure that’s just around the corner. 

The REIWA Council will now include:

  • Suzanne Brown(Rentwest)[Newly elected]
  • Damian Collins(Momentum Wealth) 
  • Hayden Groves(Dethridge Groves)
  • Sarah Kinsey(Ray White UXCEL)
  • Peter Lawrance(Avanti Residential)[Re-elected]
  • Brett Thorp(Thorp Realty) 
  • Rory Trotter(Force Real Estate)[Newly elected]
  • Kris Tully(Tully First National)[Re-elected]
  • Joe White(JMW Real Estate)

Community Discussion

Be the first one to comment on this article
What would you like to say about this project?